Nothing But Excellence in the Caravan and Camping Community

On Monday night, the Caravan & Camping Industry Association of NSW hosted the ‘Awards of Excellence’ at Sydney’s Luna Park to recognise the ‘best in the field’ in the NSW caravan and camping industry. The peak body set out to find the best in the industry, including small and large holiday parks, service providers, RV manufacturers, dealers and employees, and to award those going above and beyond to make the industry what it is today.

Photo L-R: DNSW’s GM Regional NSW, Stephen Mahoney, James O’Loghlin, BIG4 Great Lakes Jan Richter, Shane Ridgewell, Adam Kessels, Margeret Shannon and CCIA President Theo Whitmont

“This year we had an unprecedented number of nominations, making an outstanding list of businesses across NSW which are striving to deliver excellence in quality and service in our sector,” Association President, Theo Whitmont said.

In such a vibrant and innovative community, these awards are a great way to recognise the vast majority of services the caravan and camping community provide to Australians – whether it be road trippers setting out on a new adventure, families seeking a resort style holiday or even campers just wanting to get back to the basics.

With an unprecedented number of nominations, the Caravan & Camping Industry Association of NSW awarded the “Best of the Best” award to BIG4 Great Lakes at Forster-Tuncurry (Holiday, Tourist & Resort Parks) and Horizon Motorhomes (Products & Services).

“BIG4 Great Lakes offers a fantastic holiday oasis with modern, family-focused facilities and its commitment to customer service has made it a successful business that is an integral part of the Great Lakes economy,” Mr Whitmont said.

Photo L-R O’Loghlin, Whitmont, Horizon’s Clayton Kearney, Mahoney

Horizon Motorhomes now joins the CCIA’s ‘Hall of Fame’ this year, reflecting three years of consecutive achievement in the industry awards.

“Horizon Motorhomes, based in Ballina, has been designing motorhomes since 1995. Each motorhome is hand built with precision and passion and with the best quality materials and techniques which have lead it to become one of the largest RV manufacturers in Australia.”

The industry also recognised the outstanding commitment of individuals with Employee of the Year and Young Achiever awards:

  • Employee of the Year (Holiday, Tourist & Resort Parks)
    Margaret Shannon – BIG4 Great Lakes at Forster-Tuncurry
  • Employee of the Year (Products & Services)
    Carlos Larrain – Cub Campers
  • Outstanding Contribution of a Young Achiever (Holiday, Tourist & Resort Parks)
    Christopher Stokoe – Ingenia Communities
  • Outstanding Contribution of a Young Achiever (Products & Services)
    Reade Price – Avida Recreational Vehicles

Congratulations to all the nominees and recipients.